Historic Javelina baseball team will not receive rings

Historic Javelina baseball team will not receive rings

The 2012-2013 Javelina baseball team had the the best record in program history, but it looks like technicalities
will keep them from getting rings to commemorate the season.

Standard practice for the university has been to purchase rings for conference championship teams. However, recent rule changes in the Lone Star Conference Handbook mean that the record-breaking Javelinas technically are not LSC champions.

“The Lone Star Conference has changed their definition on what a champion is,” said Scott Gines, Vice President of Intercollegiate Athletics and Campus Recreation.

In years past, the winner of the LSC’s postseason tournament determined the overall champion. However, The LSC’s recent policy change gave the league championship to the team with the best conference record, while the postseason tournament only determines who would get an automatic bid to the regional tournament.

With that policy change, Tarleton State was the LSC champions with a conference record of 21-7. Though the Javelinas had a better overall record of 42-18 as opposed to Tarleton State’s 34-16-1, they came in second in the LSC with a conference record of 18-10.

In the LSC’S last weekly release of the season, they officially declared Tarleton State as conference champions. This was confirmed by Melanie Robotham, assistant commissioner of the LSC.

“The LSC champion is Tarleton State,” she said. “Texas A&M-Kingsville is the LSC Tournament champion.”

“As an institution, you can choose to give rings or not to give rings,” Gines said. “The policy changes do affect the university’s decision to give out postseason awards, though.”

Fares Sabawi
Managing Editor